Abrasive Trees

Abrasive Trees Announce Compilation Release “Epocha”

Abrasive Trees

Post-Punk/Post-Rock/Post-Folk crossover band Abrasive Trees have announced a CD-only release of their compilation album EPOCHA.

The new collection features 9 tracks all written and recorded by Matthew Rochford between 2019 and 2021, and mixed by Rothko’s Mark Beazley.  Rochford, a member of Bella Union’s recently announced collective Silver Moth (along with fellow Abrasive Tree Ben Roberts) created much of the music in isolation working closely with Beazley to finalise each track and enlisting an array of musicians to guest.  Jo Beth Young, Peter Yates, Steven Hill, Laurence Collyer, and Roberts are among those who appear. Beazley added bass to tracks such as Before and Replenishing Water, which features celebrated drummer and Rochford’s younger brother Sebastian.

Matthew Rochford says of the release: “This work marks a particular phase of creativity, borne from a unique set of adverse (yet special) conditions.  I was fortunate to work with Mark Beazley on these tracks with additional support from Jo Beth – which was invaluable. After these were made things definitely changed as we moved into more of a traditional band set-up.  It’s a chapter that I think is worth celebrating and one that I will always be hugely grateful for.”

The album is available for pre-order now and starts shipping on Friday 10th March, with a launch gig at The Black Heart, Camden on Saturday 4th March (supporting This Is Radio Silence).





Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: