Astral Magic To Release New Album On Tonzonen Records

Astral Magic

Astral Magic is th new solo project by Santtu Laakso aka Dj Astro. His debut for Tonzonen Records titled Magical Kingdom will be released on limited edition vinyl on June 10th. Listen to the title track HERE

Santtu used to play bass and Moog in Finnish psychedelic space rock band Dark Sun. Astral Magic has no definitive style or form, but everything is and will be spacey and psychedelic. Since the project was started in March 2020, over 300 tracks have been created. Some of the tracks are cosmic, ambient excursions into other dimensions, some are more space/ kraut/ psych/ prog rocking in the vein of Hawkwind, Gong, Eloy, Pink Floyd, NEU! etc. Santtu’s international musician friends are often asked to join in the recordings.

Magical Kingdom can be considered as the first psychedelic prog rock album by Astral Magic. The listener is taken into another mysterious, magical world. Listen to Seven Planes HERE

Other musicians on the album include multi-instrumentalist Jay Tausig (US, drums, guitar, saxophone, flute), Gregory Curvey (US, guitar, glockenspiel), Peter Bingham (UK, guitar), Markku Helin (FI, guitar), Anton Barbeau (US, guitar) and Perttu Lindberg (FI, drums). Magical Kingdom was recorded and mixed in 2020-2021 and mastered by the kraut rock legend Eroc for maximum sound quality. Preorder is live HERE

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.