Moulding Heaven With Earth: Abrasive Trees New Single And Video Out Now

Abrasive Trees

t’s out. Abrasive Trees have announced their next single Moulding Heaven With Earth/Kali Sends Sunflowers – to be released on today via the SHAPTA Releases label. 

The double A-side confirms a change of direction for the project, originally started by Matthew Rochford and is the first to feature the full live band line-up.  It was produced by Lucy Board and Matthew Board from shoegaze/dream pop band Pale Blue eyes and features a remix by Mark Beazley (Rothko).  

Matthew Rochford said of the release: “Moulding Heaven With Earth is, in part, about how we try to line everything up perfectly in our lives – and how this never quite works. But it’s also about some deeper truths about our potential as human beings.

Kali Sends Sunflowers is a bit of a rallying cry for dreamers, for creatives, for people with the imagination and energy for changing the world amidst the abject failure of our current systems and ways of thinking.”

The single is available for pre-order on cassette, CD or download via Bandcamp and will be released on all platforms on Thursday 28th April.

Abrasive Trees have been described as ’stunning’ (BBC Introducing), ‘a transcendent experience of euphoric dissonance’ ( and ‘perfectly evocative’ (Aural Aggravation).  Their musical creations display a willingness to experiment alongside a sound that sits loosely within the post-punk aesthetic with definite influences from post-rock, and psychedelia.  

Creating a visionary, cinematic sound, the band use intertwining guitars, distorted cello and leviathan drums set against stark vocals and spectral spoken-word. Abrasive Trees express an inner world that is at times intense, but ultimately hopeful. 

The band consists of Matthew Rochford (guitars and vocals), Ben Roberts (cello and bass), Jay Newton (guitars) and Jerome Hitchens (drums), enhanced by visuals from Jess Wooller.

The project has, to date, collaborated in the studio with Jo-Beth Young (Talitha Rise/RISE), Mark Beazley (Rothko), Steven Hill (Evi Vine), Peter Yates (Fields of The Nephilim), Sebastian Swarm (Lunacy), Laurence Collyer (Diamond Family Archive), Mark Parsons (Eat Lights Become Lights), Lee Friese-Green (Sidi Bou Said) and Sebastian Rochford (Pulled By Magnets/Polar Bear/Patti Smith).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.