Berthold City Have Released Video For Flashing Lights

Berthold City
Photo by Greg Flack

Los Angeles straight edge hardcore act BERTHOLD CITY, formed by members of Strife, World Be Free, Internal Affairs, Abrasian, One Choice, Allegiance, The Mistake, and more, released When Words Are Not Enough through vocalist Andrew Kline’s own WAR Records in March. With twelve tracks of foundational, hard hitting, anthemic hardcore, When Words Are Not Enough solidifies the band as a powerful entity in modern hardcore. The album was recorded and mixed at Jet To Mars Studio by Nick Jett (Terror), mastered by Brad Boatright at Audiosiege (Integrity, Jesus Piece, God’s Hate), completed with cover art and design by Jeremy Dean, and features guest vocals from Jason Mazzola (Count Me Out) on “Left With Nothing.”

The new video for “Flashing Lights” was directed by BERTHOLD CITY’s bassist John “Eightclip” Jenkins, who states, “The song’s lyrics speak to the notion of value. What do we value, and how do we make the decision as to what holds value?

“The concept of the video was to play with the pace and speed of the way the song was written. Then use that as a metaphor for the internal monologue we as humans struggle with daily. The lyrical delivery, and the public facing freneticism of Andrew contrasted with the inner monologue of the instrumentation acting as a metaphor for how our brain makes decisions. How do we slow down decision making and ultimately life, in order to actually determine what we hold as valuable?

“As Ferris Beuller said, ‘Life moves pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.’

“Take all the information you’re given from all different aspects of life and slow those moments down. Take what you can from different thoughts, ideas, and philosophies. Then determine if your value is based on the money you have, or the way you actually live.”

When Words Are Not Enough is now available on CD, LP, and digital at the WAR Records webshop HERE and Bandcamp HERE. While most vinyl variants are sold out, the LP is still available at RevHQ in the US and Merchpit and Coretex in Europe.

Formed in 2017 by vocalist Andrew Kline (guitarist for Strife, World Be Free), BERTHOLD CITY’s lineup is rounded out by guitarist Dennis McDonald (Internal Affairs), drummer Adam Galindo (Abrasian, One Choice), bassist John “Eightclip” Jenkins (Allegiance), and guitarist Dave Itow (The Mistake). The band released a three-song demo in July of 2017 and quickly followed it up with the release of both the Moment Of Truth and What Time Takes 7” EPs. Since their formation, BERTHOLD CITY hit the ground running and completed short tours on both East and West coasts with Terror, Regulate, Fireburn, Change, Scowl, Kill Your Idols, and more. Locally they have shared the stage with bands such as Sick of it All, Judge, Shelter, Agnostic Front, Youth Of Today, Dare, Drain, Take Offense, among others.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.